Overall, children are at higher risk of injury in extended-cab trucks — when compared to children riding in other vehicles — whether they are riding in the front or back, according to a new study.
Can a child sit in the middle seat of a truck?
Simple: Don’t put them there. “Child-safety seats shouldn’t be used in the front seat — period,” Rader said. … If you’re looking to purchase a truck with a usable front middle seat in order to accommodate your family, be sure the seat has a lap and shoulder belt, and don’t put kids there.
Can a child ride in a truck without back seat?
After a crash or vehicle breakdown, a child aged under 12 months can travel in a tow truck. If a suitable child car seat is not available, they can sit on the lap of another passenger. If the tow truck has two or more rows of seats, they must sit in the back seat.
Can you fit car seats in extended cab trucks?
But for those occasions when kids need to ride back there, the short rear cushion found in most extended cab pickups can be uncomfortable and often prevents installing a child seat there. Child seats are intended to have at least 80 percent of their base length supported on the vehicle cushion.
Where do you put an infant car seat in a truck?
The safest place for your child’s car seat is in the back seat, away from active air bags. If the car seat is placed in the front seat and the air bag inflates, it could hit the back of a rear-facing car seat — right where the child’s head is — and cause a serious or fatal injury.
What is the difference between truck cabs?
If you’re considering a truck for your next vehicle, you’ll want to understand the differences between the cab types. … Crew cabs are designed for transporting families, while regular cabs are designed for working. Crew cabs are longer. Extended cabs have two rows of seats that have three seats each.
Do you have to sit in the back with a newborn?
The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) recommends that infants and toddlers ride in a rear-facing seat until they are 2 years old or until they have reached the maximum weight and height limits recommended by the manufacturer.
What is the Georgia law for sitting in the front seat?
7) When can my child ride in the front seat? A: Georgia law requires children to ride in the back seat until age 8. However, children age 12 and under should ride in the back seat of the vehicle whenever possible as the back seat is the safest position for children.